Skip to content

An interlude [poem: sketch]

September 14, 2010

If only life could remain as inspiration for poetry without getting in the way of it. Despite all of my good intentions to put the finishing touches on a new fairytale poem, and even though feet have been dominating my thoughts for the last few weeks, I’m still no closer to those posts than I was when I posted “Shoes.” But wait–that’s not entirely true. Thanks so much to all of you who sent me feedback or posted comments about the piece. I must admit, I’ve been overwhelmed by your approval of the original piece and doubting the wisdom of trying to expand on it. But you’ve also helped me consider new directions for the shoe lines. So as I work to get my feet back under me, I hope to work on finding new words to join with the old ones.

For now, I only have time for a

sketch

You thank me
And I sketch a bow
Give you just an outline of me
Without filling anything in
Maybe giving you less than that
A few lines
Drawn in charcoal
Easily washed out or smeared
Beyond recognition
So the real picture is indistinguishable
The model obscured
Beyond recognition
And you hold the sketch before you
Trying to read the lines
That have no words
Then you tell me you love me
And refuse to listen when I say
You haven’t seen me at all

—Julie Laing
Tracks
© 1999

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 2:47 pm

    just an outline of me without filling anything in.. a sketch. a nice image.

    Like

  2. November 3, 2010 1:34 pm

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/thursday-poets-rally-week-32-november-4-10/

    week 31 perfect poet award reminder,
    Thanks.
    if you accept, let me know,
    Welcome to Rally week 32.

    Like

  3. October 16, 2010 8:09 am

    a beautiful sketch indeed.

    visiting you from jingle’s TRP (Thursday Rally 4 Poets).

    Like

  4. September 24, 2010 1:19 pm

    best wishes…
    lovely sentiments,
    beautifully put.

    Like

  5. September 14, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’m in that place now. So involved in trying to get (and keep) a web following, thereby selling a few of my poetry books, that I no longer have the time or energy to write new stuff. Same goes for my fiction.
    I know the phase will pass however, as it has before – the thing is not to get too hung up on the problem.

    Like

    • September 15, 2010 11:00 am

      I knew I wasn’t the only one! I hope you’re able to find time for new writing soon.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. From the stage « The JulieBook
  2. Fairytale [work in progress] « The JulieBook

Please share your thoughts--your feedback means more than you can know.

