Skip to content

Feeling wobbly

November 7, 2012

My boyfriend George and I are currently sailing across the South Pacific to Australia (see our travel blog, Ditch the Dog), so my poetry posts are even more infrequent than usual. But I’m finding lots of inspiration–even in the rare bad things, such as seasickness.

image

This is my first blue water passage, and I knew the threat of regularly dangling my head over the life lines loomed large. But I was still unprepared for the first wave of uncontrollable nausea. Fortunately for me, it seems to last only a few hours on the first day of a crossing and to disappear completely by day 2. Fortunately for you, this poem is more beautiful than the experience. Enjoy.

Ocean Motion
I struggle for rhythm in this
new lapis world
swing dancer in a
Latin nightclub
always right foot forward on
one instead of two
As I curl flat-backed on the
narrow salt-sprayed bench
my ocean becomes topaz
white-capped with clouds
I listen to unfamiliar music
determined not to gyroscope
through each free spin
My breathing slowly shifts
adjusts from the upright
trad jazz tempo of land
to this foreign rock
bounce and roll
Just another dance
another lead to follow
all I need to find my center
is time
–Julie Laing

If you’ve read this far, then you should continue on to check out some of the other amazing poetry at the dVerse Poets Pub. If you’ve come here from Open Link Night, please forgive my slowness in returning your visit and/or responding to you’re comment; we’re off the Noumea dock tomorrow and my Internet connection will be spotty.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 10:35 pm

    A pitch perfect conceit. Wonderful that you gifted us art out of your misery, glad you’re feeling better.

    Like

  2. November 7, 2012 3:03 pm

    I agree this works really well – the poem swings and I can feel the sea (and can even imagine the queasiness).

    What a lovely thing to do (the voyage not the nausea,..) – I hope all goes well,

    Like

  3. November 7, 2012 8:50 am

    Like the dance concept Julie… tons of associations to mimic motion on the ocean 🙂

    Like

  4. Janine permalink
    November 7, 2012 8:38 am

    Beautiful!!! Love the picture too! So glad you are feeling better!!!

    Like

  5. November 7, 2012 7:00 am

    ha nice..i like the dance images you describe this with…you made a piece of art out of your seasickness…smiles…glad it disappeared on day two…safe travels to you…really cool to sail around the world…what a fantastic adventure

    Like

  6. November 7, 2012 6:18 am

    swing dancer in a latin club….ha…i bet it feels like that for sure at times….glad as well that it passes as i know this has to be a wonderful adventure….great to see you! thanks for checking in…and def take me some pictures….smiles.

    Like

  7. November 7, 2012 5:29 am

    First – Wow! Have a wonderful wonderful time. Your trip sounds great.

    Secondly, you’ve given nausea a gentle and rather sweet ride here – Ii get seasick so I’m sympathetic. Your description of the lapis world so lovely. k.

    Like

  8. November 7, 2012 5:04 am

    Excellent — I am envious — well, not of the nausea. Bon Voyage!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Feeling wobbly | Home Far Away From Home
  2. Feeling wobbly « Ditch the Dog

Please share your thoughts--your feedback means more than you can know.

